Top Ten Games (From 2014)

This was the second top ten list I had written, the pervious year being done through tweets. So let’s jump right in to this poorly written garbage.

Right, let’s start this list with some honourable mentions.

Tales of Hearts R – Did not finish it.

Freedom Wars – Did not finish it.

Tales of Xillia 2 – Did not finish it

Professor Layton Vs Phoenix Wright – Did not finish it

Bayonetta 2 – Did not finish it

Persona Q – Did not finish it

Farcry 4 – Did not finish it

…….. And more I have most likely forgotten

Right then, now on to the main list. I will list them in order of worst to best starting at 10 (duh) and give a short description of why I enjoyed it to the point of it being on this list (Spoiler free.) So with that………….

10) Hyrule Warriors

This game is like Marmite, And I fall on the side that love it. Although I can see why people would hate it, it is repetitive REALLY repetitive….. But I don’t care, I find mowing down wave upon wave of enemy’s extremely fun. But I have certainly played better games this year which is why it is on the high end of things at number ten.

9) Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze

This is one of the finest platformers I have ever played, it feels so smooth to play. And it is balls to the wall hard yet it is still fair. And the cherry on the cake here is the music, the original composer for the Donkey Kong Country series David Wise came back to do the music for this game and it shows. Remixes of old, and the new stuff are great too. Just all around a great game.

8) The Walking Dead: Season 2

The series may of started last year, but the retail release came out this year, so that is what I am counting, the release of the last episode. Right, so this was not as good as the first season, but it was still a fantastic uhh….. “Experience” (as you don’t exactly “play” a Telltale game.) Seeing the continuing adventures Clementine is always a good thing.

7) The Wolf Among Us

Telltale gets another spot on my list for for their take of the Fables Franchise. The Idea of playing the Big bad Wolf in a Noir esque crime thriller is very appealing to me from the get-go and then you have all of the other iconic characters with their own problems, Beauty and the beast with relationship problems, The Little Mermaid is a struggling Stripper, Tweedle Dee and dum are street thugs and so on. Just another joy to sit through.

6) Mario Kart 8

This is the best Mario Kart in years, It is so good. The anti-grav stuff is a great edition so the series and the DLC for it is great. I have not had this much with with Mario Kart since Double Dash on the Cube. The Online just adds to how long the games lasts for me. I don’t need to say any more about this one.

5) Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

This game is the best looking, best playing metal gear I have ever played. The ONLY reason why it is not at number 1 or 2 is because is is short…. REALLY short, clocking in a 2 hours-ish and is even shorter on subsequent playthroughs. But that is okay I knew it was short, as this is just the prelude to the main chunk of meat that is going to be Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.

4) The Last of Us Remastered

I am kind of cheating here as the original Last of Us came out in 2013, but I never played it and Remastered came out this year so shhh, my list, my rules. Anyway, this was a very good game, a very, very good game. With a fine narrative (although I think it was over-hyped a bit) and solid gameplay that worked well with each other, so yea play this one…. Or watch it (same sort of experience)

3) Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Trilogy

I had never played a Phoenix Wright game before this year and the remake of the first three games into one package allowed me to put them in one spot on this list. I saw a quote saying that the ace attorney games were the best books ever, and I think there is some truth to that (given that PW:AA is heavy on the reading) while not the best things I have read they are indeed a fantastic read, such a good mix of fun, drama and even sometimes dark undertones. I very much enjoyed these games….. Apollo Justice not so much.

2) Persona 4: Arena: Ultimax Ultra Suplex Hold

Man what a title. OK, so, I love Persona, I REALLY love Persona. I enjoyed the original Arena last year but it was missing something…. a proper climax, and this one delivers it. The ending to the story the first one started and it is great. And on top of that it is a solid fighting game. Now I just have to wait for Persona 4: Dancing all Night and PERSONA 5 to get my persona fix.

1) Super Smash Brothers for WiiU and Nintendo 3DS

It is Smash, I do not need any further reason to put this at number 1.

And there we go, my Top Ten Games of 2014…….. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

